SIPdia vs Zoiper: A Fair Comparison
A sourced, side-by-side comparison of SIPdia and Zoiper: platforms, pricing model, transports, encryption, codecs, transfer, recording and push notifications, checked on 8 November 2026.
Published 8 November 2026 · Updated 9 November 2026 · Competitor facts reviewed 8 November 2026 · 5 min read · By SpaGreen Creative
Short answer
Zoiper is a mature cross-platform softphone with a free non-commercial edition and a paid PRO edition. SIPdia is a newer Apple-only SIP client with a free one-account plan and a Premium tier. Which fits depends on your platforms and on whether you need push notifications.
Zoiper and SIPdia solve the same basic problem, registering a SIP account and making calls, but they are aimed at different people. Zoiper suits anyone who needs one softphone across Windows, macOS, Linux, Android and iOS, who wants push notifications on a phone, or who already relies on Zoiper features such as auto provisioning and contacts integration. SIPdia suits Mac, iPhone and iPad users who want a small native SIP client with TLS and SRTP available on the free plan, and who are comfortable with an app that is still in release preparation and does not yet offer push notifications. Neither product is a universal choice.
Last reviewed 8 November 2026
Zoiper is a trademark of its owner; SIPdia is not affiliated with or endorsed by them. Facts come from the official sources listed below and may change.
Side by side
SIPdia facts come from the SIPdia product fact sheet. Zoiper facts come from the official pages linked in each cell. "Not documented" means the official pages we reviewed do not state it; it does not mean the feature is missing.
| SIPdia | Zoiper | |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | macOS 14+, iOS/iPadOS 17+ | Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS (download page) |
| Pricing model | Freemium. Free: one account. Premium: recording, more accounts, forwarding and DND. No prices published yet. | Free edition for non-commercial use with "basic functionality"; Zoiper 5 PRO one-time licence, EUR 59.95 plus VAT on 8 Nov 2026 (shop); mobile Premium in-app purchase, shown as USD 4.99 on iOS on the download page |
| Open source | No. Closed-source app built on baresip (BSD licence) | No. Proprietary |
| Transports | UDP, TCP, TLS | UDP, TCP, TLS (support article); TLS listed as PRO on desktop (product page) |
| Media encryption | SRTP, Optional or Required. No ZRTP | SRTP and ZRTP in Zoiper 5 PRO (product page) and in mobile Premium (download page) |
| Codecs | Opus, G.711 ulaw and alaw | G.722, ULAW, Opus, G.729, GSM listed; G.729 is a PRO codec (product page, download page) |
| Multiple accounts | Yes, all registered at once. Free: one account. Premium: unlimited | Not documented on the pages reviewed |
| Transfer | Blind and attended | Yes, listed under PRO "business features" on desktop and Premium on mobile (download page); blind or attended not specified |
| Hold | Yes | Not documented on the pages reviewed |
| Call recording | Local WAV recording, Premium | "Record all calls automatically" option (product page); tier not stated |
| Push notifications on mobile | No. App must be open | Yes, via the Zoiper push proxy on iOS and Android (support) |
| Release status | In release preparation, not yet downloadable | Shipping, downloadable |
Where Zoiper is stronger
Platform reach is the clearest difference. Zoiper publishes builds for Windows, macOS, Linux, Android and iOS, so one product can cover a mixed office. SIPdia has no Windows, Linux or Android app.
Push notifications are the second. Zoiper documents a push proxy that uses APNs on iOS and Firebase Cloud Messaging on Android so the app can receive calls while in the background. The support article notes that the proxy needs a registration expiry of at least ten minutes. SIPdia has no push gateway yet: on iPhone the app must be in the foreground, and it unregisters about 20 seconds after you leave it.
Zoiper also lists a wider codec set, including G.722 and G.729 (G.729 in PRO). SIPdia ships Opus and G.711 only and does not include G.722 or G.729 for licence reasons.
Finally, Zoiper 5 PRO advertises business tooling that SIPdia does not have: auto provisioning, live contacts integration with Outlook, LDAP and Thunderbird, browser click-to-dial, and ZRTP for media encryption. SIPdia keeps its own contact list, synced across your Apple devices, and with Premium can import Outlook or Google CSV and vCard files, but it does not read those directories directly.
Where SIPdia is stronger
Encryption on the free plan. SIPdia offers TLS transport and SRTP (Optional or Required) to every user, including the free single-account plan. Zoiper's pages place TLS, SRTP and ZRTP under Zoiper 5 PRO on desktop and under Premium on mobile.
Clear documentation of transfer and hold. The SIPdia fact sheet states blind transfer, attended transfer between two open calls, and hold/resume on both platforms. Zoiper's official pages mention transfer as a PRO or Premium feature but do not state whether blind, attended or both, and do not mention hold at all.
Apple platform integration. On iOS, SIPdia uses CallKit, so incoming calls appear on the system call screen and lock screen while the app is open, and it supports CarPlay audio and Bluetooth headset buttons. On macOS it has a floating incoming-call window on every Space, a menu bar icon and keyboard shortcuts. Zoiper's official pages do not describe equivalent Apple integrations, so we make no claim either way about Zoiper here.
Licensing clarity for commercial use. Zoiper's free desktop edition is labelled "non-commercial use only". The SIPdia fact sheet lists no non-commercial restriction on the free plan. Note that SIPdia's terms are still being finalised before launch.
Things both do
- Register one or more SIP accounts against a PBX such as Asterisk, FreePBX or Issabel, or a SIP trunk provider.
- Support TLS for signalling and SRTP for media (SIPdia on all plans, Zoiper in PRO or Premium).
- Offer Opus and G.711 audio.
- Support call transfer and conferencing-adjacent workflows (SIPdia: several concurrent calls and transfer; Zoiper: transfer and conference in PRO).
- Use STUN for NAT traversal (SIPdia also uses ICE; Zoiper documents a default STUN server and rport options).
- Record calls locally (SIPdia in Premium; Zoiper lists an automatic recording option).
Who should choose which
Choose Zoiper if you need Windows, Linux or Android, if incoming calls on a phone with the app in the background are essential, if you want G.729 or G.722, or if you depend on provisioning and directory integration. Also choose Zoiper if you need a downloadable product today, because SIPdia is not released yet.
Consider SIPdia if you live on Mac, iPhone or iPad, want TLS and SRTP without paying, prefer a small client with Opus and G.711, and can work with an app that needs to stay open to receive calls. Buy Premium only if you need recording, more than one account, or forwarding and DND through PBX feature codes.
If you are undecided, read what to look for in a SIP softphone and test both with your own PBX before committing.
Next steps
- See the full SIPdia feature list and pricing.
- Check the download center for release status.
- Zoiper's official information is at the sources listed below.
Frequently asked questions
Is Zoiper free?
Zoiper offers a free edition described on its download page as basic functionality for occasional, non-commercial use. Zoiper 5 PRO for desktop was listed at EUR 59.95 per licence (one-time, plus VAT) on the official shop page on 8 November 2026. Mobile Premium is sold as an in-app purchase.
Does SIPdia run on Windows, Linux or Android?
No. SIPdia exists for macOS 14 and later and iOS/iPadOS 17 and later only. Zoiper publishes apps for Windows, macOS, Linux, Android and iOS.
Which one supports push notifications for incoming calls?
Zoiper documents a push proxy for iOS and Android. SIPdia does not implement push notifications; the app must be open to receive calls.
Do both support TLS and SRTP?
SIPdia supports UDP, TCP and TLS transports and SRTP in Optional or Required mode on the free plan. Zoiper documents TLS, SRTP and ZRTP as features of Zoiper 5 PRO on desktop and of the Premium tier on mobile.
Sources and further reading
- Zoiper official website (download page, editions and prices)www.zoiper.com
- Zoiper 5 product page (features, encryption, codecs)www.zoiper.com
- Zoiper for iOS product pagewww.zoiper.com
- Zoiper shop: Zoiper 5 PRO licence pricewww.zoiper.com
- Zoiper support: Incoming calls are not working (push notifications)www.zoiper.com
- Zoiper support: Zoiper PUSH proxywww.zoiper.com
- Zoiper support: Calls get disconnected after 30 seconds (transport options)www.zoiper.com
This article is published by SpaGreen Creative, the maker of SIPdia. Product names mentioned belong to their owners.
